Getting ready for the field

One of the reasons I got started with this blog now is because the summer research season is about to begin! This Sunday June 12,2011 I leave for our field station, Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory in Gothic, Colorado to start collecting butterflies for my experiments. I am traveling with my friend and fellow grad student Heidi who is works mostly with adult Rocky Mountain Colias butterflies (I work mostly with the caterpillars and butterfly pupae) as well as our field assistant and my husband Chris. Our field research adventure begins as we drive from Chapel Hill, NC to RMBL stopping along the way at O’Bannon Woods in Corydon, IN, Clinton State Park in Lawrence, KS, and at Cheyenne Mountain State Park in Colorado Springs, CO. It should be quite a trip, I’ve never done a cross-country drive like this before and I’m really looking forward to it. I’ll keep you updated on our transcontinental progress here on the blog as well as on twitter @jessicakhiggins. Don’t worry though, I’ll get the blog rolling with a post sometime this weekend about how we pulled off planning research projects that involve crossing the country.

Leave a Reply

